I saw this game on sale once or twice. The second time, it was really cheap, so I looked the trailer and it seemed nice. I bought it and tried it. Here is what I thought of it.

Getting started

First of all, there’s A LOT OF CUT SCENES. In the first 20 minutes there must at been at least 10 minutes of it. It’s nice at the start, it explains to you what the premises of the game is. You are a roach in a post-apocalyptic world where the focus is to survive. Being a roach, so you can walk on the ceiling and it’s really nice! It’s a nice change of gameplay and it makes it a little harder because you need to look everywhere for the answer.

The graphics are nice, unique, and fun. Everything looks like a paper cartoon style.

The gameplay

You are this little roach who gets separated from his friend. It’s a point-and-click sort with a change (never really played some so I don’t know if the mechanics change a lot throughout this genera) : You need to move in the stage to go next to the interaction to make it do something. You need to collect, place and assemble items to continue in the world. You get stuck in a rundown little … village?- I don’t know what it is but it’s weird-, while trying to rescue your friend.

There’s a lot of cutscene that breaks the gameplay and, while I found it really nice in the beginning, it got annoying really fast. There is no voice acting. No words. Everything you must interact with is pictured. Nothing is really explained and you must guess a lot of things. You can wear certain items for collect another one or use items to catch something. It’s really nicely made and, like I said, the cartoony look of the game really pleased me.

Final Thoughts

I didn’t play a hole lot, because I got bored and done with the game pretty quickly. While the style of the game and some mechanics are really nice, I am not the type of person that likes to go in circles for hours to figure out something because nothing is explained. And point-and-click video games are not the kind of game I like from the start, so I was a little bummed when I first booted the game, but wanted to give it a try anyway. Some games are still nice even if something bothers you, for example stardew valley, so I wanted to give it a go.

Unfortunately the too many cutscenes, the never ending search for something/item to fit in a particular interaction to advance was too much for me to be having fun.

 

Review : Negative. The game was not for me.

